OB-6 Ships

Dave Smith and Tom Oberheim's analog synth collaboration hits the stores      04/03/16

OB-6 Ships

Buying Choices

DSI has announced that the Dave Smith Instruments / Tom Oberheim OB-6 analog synthesizer is now available. Here's their statement...

We're excited to announce that OB-6 is now shipping! The first units have left our manufacturing facility in San Francisco and have begun arriving at dealers.

Developed in collaboration with Tom Oberheim, it boasts a sound engine inspired by Tom's original SEM (the core of his acclaimed 4-voice and 8-voice synthesizers). The OB-6 is designed to provide true, vintage SEM tone with the stability and flexibility of modern technology. As Dave Smith put it: "It's been great fun working with Tom to create this synth. People are going to be blown away by how awesome the OB-6 sounds." Tom Oberheim added: "The classic, unmistakable SEM tone is all there. It's big and bold and it's going to turn a lot of heads."

The OB-6 features two discrete voltage-controlled oscillators (plus sub-oscillator) per voice, with continuously variable waveshapes (sawtooth and variable-width pulse, with triangle on oscillator 2). There is a classic SEM-inspired state-variable filter (low-pass, high-pass, band-pass, and notch) per voice. Voltage-controlled amplifiers complete the all-analog signal path.

Pricing and Availability:
The OB-6 has a MAP of $2,999 USD and is available through DSI's worldwide network of authorized dealers.

More information:



Even more news...


More Videos

Sonic LAB Presentation - Roland TR-8S Rhythm Performer 

We get a look at the new AIRA drum machine

Sonic Lab: 1010 Music Bitbox Sampler and Toolbox Review 

We take a look at two new boxes from 1010Music

NAMM 2018: Pioneer Launches DDJ-1000 Controller 

Designed for dedicated use with rekordbox dj professional performance application

NAMM 2018: Waldorf Quantum Sounds 

More details, shipping quite soon