NAMM 2015: Four New Casio Digital Pianos

New Celviano and Privia models      23/01/15

NAMM 2015: Four New Casio Digital Pianos

Buying Choices

Casio has announced the addition of four new models to its Celviano and Privia digital piano lines. They say that the Celviano AP-260 and AP-460, as well as the Privia PX-760 and PX-860 offer a number of new features including a Hall Simulator and Concert Play that will appeal to a variety of users, from beginners to advanced musicians.

Vice President of Casio's Electronic Musical Instruments Division, Stephen Schmidt, told us, "Casio is known for providing the authentic sound and feel of a grand piano in a digital instrument, and we've continued that tradition with our latest Celviano and Privia pianos. Whether music enthusiasts are looking for a highly portable Privia digital piano or the elegant look and feel of the Celviano, Casio's latest models deliver an unmatched realism that users will appreciate and love."

Here's more details in Casio's own words...

New Modes and Features
The latest Casio Celviano and Privia models are equipped with new modes and features to help enhance a musician's experience. Concert Play allows musicians to play along to 10 classical pieces. For each of these 10 pieces, recordings of a symphony orchestra are included and users can select to hear them with or without the piano part. There is also a lesson feature which allows musicians to practice a piece at a slower tempo until they are ready to play it at normal tempo with the orchestra. The 10 pieces are appropriate for a variety of skill sets from beginner to advanced.

In addition, new stereo string ensemble tones were developed for this line of Celviano and Privia digital pianos. These string sounds can be played individually or layered with Casio's renowned Concert Grand Piano sounds.  There are also new electric piano sounds derived from the award winning Privia PX-5S Stage Piano. The new models even include a new digital effects system called Hall Simulator.  Based on acoustic measurements of real locations around the world, users have the ability to select simulated environments to play the piano. Presets include the Dutch Reformed Church, Berlin Hall Philharmonic, the French Cathedral in Berlin, and more.

Proprietary AiR Technology
The new Celviano and Privia models also come equipped with Casio's proprietary AiR technology which redefines the digital piano experience with richer and more genuine sounds. The AiR sound source enables the new models to deliver first-class realism and detail by providing damper resonance, which enhances the sounds of the dampers lifting off the strings when pushing on the sustain petal. Casio's AiR technology also compensates for the speed at which hammers strike strings at different velocities and key ranges, which is imperative for those who crave the authentic sounds and feel of a traditional grand piano.

Pricing and Availability:
Casio's new Celviano and Privia models will be available at select music dealers nationwide. The AP-260 (MSRP: $1,499.99), AP-460 (MSRP: $1,899.99), PX-760 (MSRP: $1,099.99) and the PX-860 (MSRP: $1,499.99) will all be available in black or brown.

More information:


All NAMM 2015 News |  Videos |  Live Blogs |  Follow us on Twitter and Facebook
More From: CASIO
Even more news...


More Videos

Featured Video
NAMM 2020: Krotos Audio Concept - New Synth Plugin 

Its all about the modulation

Featured Video
NAMM 2020: Keith McMillen K-Board Pro 4 MPE With Deckards Dream 

A quick demo using mpe to control Deckards Dream

Featured Video
NAMM 2020: Bitwig Studio Updates And Treats 

A couple of new features that were introduced last year

Featured Video
NAMM 2020: Steinberg AXR4 USB 

Steinberg release USB range of AXR4 interfaces

Featured Video
NAMM 2020: Presonus Quantum 2626, AR8c, ioStation 24c 

Presonus extend the Quantum range, release new Studiolive ARc Range and new ioStation

Featured Video
NAMM 2020: Steinberg USB-C Audio Interface 

AXR4U offers an alternative to the AXR4T Thunderbolt interface

Sonic LAB: Ladies and Gents - The Moog ONE 

What do you want to see?

Sonic LAB: Spitfire Audio BBC Symphony Orchestra With Ty Unwin 

Full orchestral library in one package

Sonic Lab: Steinberg AXR4-T High Resolution Audio Interface 

32 Bit 384kHz capable

Studio Tour: Ham Plaza's Synth Collection 

Some lovely stuff here