Oberheim SEM V Updated

Arturia updates latest Analog Classic software synthesizer to V1.1      20/04/12

Oberheim SEM V Updated

Buying Choices
Affilliate Links help support the site
Arturia has announced the availability of Version 1.1 of Oberheim SEM V, the latest update to its recently released (Standalone, VST 2.4 & 3 -- 32- and 64-bit, RTAS and AU -- 32- and 64-bit) software emulation of the legendary Oberheim Synthesizer Expander Module. Here's what Arturia has to say...
Arturia's Oberheim SEM V faithfully reproduces the analogue warmth and ingenious interface of the Synthesizer Expander Module® (or SEM for short) -- one of the most iconic instruments of the analogue era, and Oberheim's first official analogue monosynth to boot. (Upon its introduction in 1974, the SEM was originally conceived as a way of beefing up weaker-sounding compatible analogue synths, or performing simplistic sequenced parts, before becoming a sought-after sound in its own right.)
While accurately recreating the two-oscillator tone, waveshapes (sawtooth, variable-width pulsewave with PWM, sine wave LFO), multimode 12dB/octave filter (with low-pass, high-pass, band-pass, and notch), and other characteristics (two ADS envelope generators, etc) of its notable namesake analogue ancestor, Oberheim SEM V brings many more truly 21st Century features and benefits to the music technology table -- including polyphony (plus eight-voice multitimbrality); MIDI control; arpeggiation; portamento; sub-oscillator; second LFO; white noise; onboard effects (overdrive, chorus, and delay); and a new Modulation Matrix module -- that considerably widens its sonic palette and appeal.
Oberheim SEM V not only excels at ultra-fat basses and textured leads, but also delivers the stunning sequences and ethereal pads present on Oberheim's original Eight Voice monstrous model -- made up of eight SEMs paired with the Polyphonic Synthesizer Programmer (for rudimentary recalling of patches), a simple analogue mixer, and a 49-note keyboard -- thanks to its intuitive 8-Voice Programmer -- now with new 'Reassign' and 'Forward Retrig' modes, mirroring Oberheim's original multi-SEM synths' voice assignment (using non-gated boards first) and triggering (restarting from the first board when releasing all gates) -- and advanced Keyboard Follow modules.
Version 1.1 comes preloaded with more than 100 new factory presets by world-class sound designers (Ian Boddy; Richard Courtel; Kevin Lamb; Drew Newman; and Erik Norlander), plus powerful new features aplenty: adjustable polyphony (to limit the polyphony of the plug-in -- just like Oberheim's original multi-SEM synths); faster preset management; active sustain pedal (on all systems); and improved performance on all DAWs (notably Apple Logic and Avid Pro Tools).
Favoured by many major artists for the beautiful harmonic spectrum of its multimode filter, Oberheim's signature sound is back as an absolute studio must-have!"

Pricing and Availability:
Oberheim SEM V is available to purchase from Arturia's Online shop) as Mac-compatible (OS X 10.5 or higher -- Intel only) and PC-compatible (Windows XP, Vista, and 7 -- 32- and 64-bit) boxed software for €229.00 EURO/$249.00 USD or as a software download for €220.00 EURO/$239.00 USD. (The Version 1.1 upgrade is free for all registered users.) More information:

Arturia Social

More From: ARTURIA
Even more news...


More Videos

Featured Video
Sonic TALK Special: New CLAP Plug-in  Format Sonic TALK Special: New CLAP Plug-in Format 

We chat with the developers

NAMM 22: The Big 3rd Wave Polysynth Video NAMM 22: The Big 3rd Wave Polysynth Video 

A detailed look at the new Wavetable synth

Podcast: Sonic TALK 707 - Korg Virtual OPSIX, Meta Buy Accusonus Podcast: Sonic TALK 707 - Korg Virtual OPSIX, Meta Buy Accusonus 

Only You is 40, Zappa doc

Sonic LAB: Cre8Audio Function Junction Module Review Sonic LAB: Cre8Audio Function Junction Module Review 

ADSR, Function Generator, LFO, & Mixer

Sonic LAB: New Modal Cobalt5S Synth - First Look Sonic LAB: New Modal Cobalt5S Synth - First Look 

New 5 voice Cobalt Synth

Hey there, we use Cookies to customize your experience on Sonicstate.com