Oramics to Electronica: Revealing Histories of Electronic Music

New Exhibit At London's Science Museum      02/08/11

Oramics to Electronica: Revealing Histories of Electronic Music

Buying Choices
Affilliate Links help support the site

A new exhibit at London's Science Museum offers a rare look at the history of electronic music. 

The exhibit, Oramics to Electronica: Revealing Histories of Electronic Music, explores the pioneering work of Daphne Oram and the evolution of electronic music over the last few decades. 

Here's the official show description:

Electronic music is everywhere, from the television that we watch to the music we listen to in clubs and even the ringtones on our mobile phones. But who created these electronic sounds? And how did electronic music develop?

The Oramics Machine is a revolutionary music synthesiser that was created in the 1960s by Daphne Oram. Daphne had a strong passion for both sound and electronics and the vision to combine the two. It is too fragile to restore to working order, but you can use our new interactive to recreate the sounds that it made.

In October 2011 more exhibits will be added to this core display that will be co-created by people who are working with electronic music today as well as a group of Daphne’s contemporaries. They will tell the intriguing story of how electronic sound has advanced, changed and was democratised from the 1950s through to the modern era, and they will look at how people envisioned new sounds and pushed the boundaries of what was possible. They will explore how over the years musicians have invented, altered and improved (often cheap) equipment to be able to produce these dreamt-up electronic sounds. And finally they will show how the production of electronic music has moved from purpose-built laboratories to a music studio the size of a laptop.

The exhibit, Oramics to Electronica: Revealing Histories of Electronic Music, runs from Fri 29 Jul 2011 - Sat 01 Dec 2012. 


James Lewin
Twitter @podcasting_news

More News: Like This
Even more news...


More Videos

Hey there, we use Cookies to customize your experience on Sonicstate.com