HALion Reaches For The Strings

Volume 1 -complete symphonic strings for computer-based music production      26/11/02

Buying Choices

HALion String Edition Vol. 1 is Steinberg's first complete string orchestra for computer-based music production. The included specially-developed VST- and DirectX- compatible player provides a direct connection to production systems like Cubase SX, Cubase SL and Nuendo. The 8 double basses, 10 cellos, 12 violas and 16 violins provided offer a perfect foundation for creating anything from a Hollywood soundtrack or a classic rock symphony. HALion String Edition Vol. 1 from Steinberg is a complete computer-based string orchestra with a 5 GB sound library. The well-known and successful musician and composer, Claudius Bruese, who has already made an important contribution to the development of the legendary VST piano, THE GRAND, also played a significant part in the production of the HALion String Edition. This software gives the precision in reproducing acoustic instruments, the superior sound quality and clarity, as well as the playing characteristics users around the world have come to expect of products bearing his name. Thanks to the warm character and unique sound quality, HALion String Edition Vol. 1 excels at expressive string sounds for any musical style, from film soundtracks over rock symphonies to classical compositions. HALion String Edition Vol. 1 Features
  • Complete orchestral strings - double basses, cellos, violas and violins
  • Playing styles such as legato, tremolo, pizzicato or spiccato
  • Suitable for all forms of music - from classical to popular
  • Warm and defined tones, perfectly-balanced bow sounds
  • Unrivalled expressiveness, full dynamic range, up and down bowing
  • Natural room ambience, authentic note decay
  • HALion String Player available for PC and Mac OS HALion String Edition Vol.1 is expected to be available at the end of November in specialist shops at a recommended price of 299 EUR / +/- $299. Further information on HALion String Edition Vol. 1 and other products from Steinberg can be found on the Steinberg website:
  • www.steinberg.net. System requirements for PC:
    Windows PC, min. Pentium II 400 MHz processor or comparable AMD processor, min. 256 MB of free RAM (512 MB recommended), free hard disc space of 5 GB, Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows 2000 or Windows XP, Cubase VST 5.1 or higher, Cubase SX/SL, Nuendo or other VST 2.0 or DXi compatible host application, PC configuration according to the host application. System requirements Mac:
    Macintosh, Power Macintosh with at least G3/500 MHz/100 MHz bus, min. 256 MB of free RAM (512 MB recommended), 5 GB free hard disc space, Mac OS 9.x or Mac OS X Version 10.2, Cubase VST 5.1 or higher, Cubase SX/SL, Nuendo or other VST 2.0 or DXi compatible host application.


    More From: STEINBERG
    Even more news...


  • More Videos

    Sonic LAB: Delta CEP A Paraphonic Modular Review 

    Desktop DSP action from Radikal Technologies

    Sonic LAB: Analogue Solutions Impulse Command 

    Unusual desktop analogue instrument

    Sonic LAB: Softube Monoment Bass Synth Plug-in 

    Designed for the lower end

    Sonic LAB: Novation Summit - 16 Voice Bi-Timbral Poly 

    Two Peaks and some