Slash Solo Album

Guitarist's first solo album to feature an all star guest line-up   15-Mar-10

Slash Solo Album
The Gibson Appetite For Destruction Les Paul

We brought you news of the 'Appetite For Destruction' Les Paul last week, now here's a new press release from Gibson...
In what will be his first true solo album, rock icon and Gibson and Epiphone Signature artist Slash has announced his album, "Slash", will be released in the UK on the 10th May 2010. The album features an all-star roster of guest musicians including Ian Astbury, Chris Cornell, Rocco DeLuca, Fergie, Dave Grohl, Myles Kennedy, Kid Rock, Lemmy Kilmister, Adam Levine of Maroon 5, Duff McKagan, M. Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold, Ozzy Osbourne, Iggy Pop, and Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother.
A major undertaking for Slash, he enlisted services of producing partner Eric Valentine (Queens of Stone Age, The All-American Rejects) and compiled a rhythm section of bassist Chris Chaney (Jane's Addiction) and drummer Josh Freese (Nine Inch Nails). Slash handled the majority of arranging and songwriting duties and hand-picked each guest artist. The album's guests worked collaboratively with Slash to round out the song.
"The idea was really simple in the beginning," said Slash. "These are all artists I wanted to work with – that I thought it would be amazing to do something creative and collaborative. And I was so impressed with what everyone brought to the table. They were all so committed to doing a good job. And we had a lot of fun making these songs."
In the UK "Slash" will also see Roadrunner Records enter into a unique and innovative association with a U.K. media partner – the special-interest media group, Future. In a brand new concept in record distribution the standard album release will be preceded by a "fan pack", in which the album will be bundled together with a highly-collectable special issue of Future Publishing's Classic Rock magazine dedicated to Slash's career. The Slash "Fan Pack" featuring his debut solo album, along with a 132-page "Classic Rock Presents: Slash" special will have a cover price of £14.99 and will be available on magazine newsstands nationwide, in over 3000 non conventional music retail outlets such as WHSmith, all supermarket chains and many independent high street newsagents
Slash is widely considered one of the greatest rock guitar players of all time. He has received countless accolades and awards including a 2007 star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame alongside his idols Jimmy Page and Jimi Hendrix. An original member of iconic rock band Guns N' Roses, Slash helped the band create signature sounds like the guitar riff of number 1 hit "Sweet Child o' Mine" and "Welcome To The Jungle." The band dominated the 1980's and 90's music scene selling more than 100 million albums worldwide and ushered in a decade of hard charging rock music. After the band's break-up, Slash went on to critical acclaim in his personal project Slash's Snakepit, and global success with super group Velvet Revolver. He has been widely sought after by the biggest musicians of all time, performing with everyone from Michael Jackson to Stevie Wonder to Ray Charles. Slash is one of the marquee playable characters in Guitar Hero III, has three signature Gibson guitars in his name which includes the forthcoming Gibson "Appetite For Destruction" Les Paul, and authored his own top-selling biography Slash in 2007.
The "Slash" album track listing
  • 1. Ghost (Ian Astbury)
  • 2. Beautiful Dangerous (Fergie)
  • 3. Nothing To Say (M Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold)
  • 4. Crucify The Dead (Ozzy Osbourne)
  • 5. Promise (Chris Cornell)
  • 6. By The Sword (Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother)
  • 7. Doctor Alibi (Lemmy Kilmister)
  • 8. Saint Is A Sinner Too (Rocco De Luca)
  • 9. Watch This (Dave Grohl/Duff McKagan)
  • 10. I Hold On (Kid Rock)
  • 11. Gotten (Adam Levine)
  • 12. We're All Gonna Die (Iggy Pop)
  • 13. Starlight (Myles Kennedy)
Classic Rock Presents: Slash "Fan pack" will have the above track listing and also feature two exclusive bonus tracks: Baby Can't Drive (Alice Cooper/Nicole Scherzinger) and Paradise City (Fergie/Cypress Hill).
Pricing and Availability:
"Slash" is released in the UK through Roadrunner Records on the 10th May 2010 - Classic Rock Presents: Slash "Fan pack" is released on the 7th April 2010.
More information:
More From: GIBSON
Even more news...